Board of Directors

Canyon Creek Homeowners Association is governed by a board of seven directors. Directors are elected at the annual meeting of homeowners and serve two year, staggered terms. Four directors are elected in odd-numbered years while three directors are elected in even-numbered years. Residents can send email messages to to reach all the directors at once.

See the FAQ page on how to apply for a board positions.

Brett Funderburg, President & Treasurer

Brett is a native of Austin and resident of Canyon Creek since 2004. He is currently a member of the executive team at NextPrime, a financial services firm operating clearing and settlement solutions for institutional traders of digital assets, where he heads operations and client services. Prior to NextPrime, he was the interim CEO of Stash, Inc., a financial technology firm building blockchain applications to support transacting at global scale. He is a former partner and Managing Director at RGM Advisors, a securities trading firm based in Austin where he was in charge of global trading and markets for the firm’s non-regulated trading activity. Prior to RGM, he co-founded StoredIQ, a storage technology firm later acquired by IBM. He is active in residential and commercial real-estate investing and finance. Through various entities, he has interests in over 100,000 square feet of retail commercial real estate in 5 states, over 3200 units in a dozen apartment communities in 3 states and multiple mortgage pools operating throughout the south and mid-Atlantic regions. (Re-elected 2020, Term expires in 2022)

Russ Jakala, Vice President

Russ has lived in Canyon Creek since 2010 with his wife and 2 kids.  He is originally from Chicago where he grew up and graduated from Columbia College with a film degree.  Post college, Russ worked on film crews for commercial and industrial shoots in the Midwest. He later pursued an opportunity as a member at the Chicago Mercantile Exchange trading derivatives, where he pioneered a successful arbitrage trading strategy. Russ has an active real estate license and invests in residential real estate, managing a portfolio of income properties in Austin and Cedar Park.  Additionally, Russ has experience as a director/producer of theater productions and enjoyed working as a radio host. He is an avid dog lover  and has volunteered in animal therapy programs with his beloved dog Petey. (Elected 2011, 2013, 2015, 2017. 2019 Term expires 2021)

Dave Marshall, Secretary

Dave has lived in Canyon Creek since 1996 and has raised a family here with his wife Carlyn. He moved here from Boca Raton, Florida. He had a long career with IBM as a software project manger, programmer, and middle manager and retired in 2018. He has been involved in the HOA as a volunteer since moving to the neighborhood. (Elected 2019. Term expires 2021, Appointed Board Secretary March 2020 in Board Executive Session)

Robert Canik, Board Member

Robert has been a resident of Canyon Creek since 1996.  He and his wife, Cara, have four children, all of whom attended Canyon Creek, Grisham, and Westwood. Both Cara and Robert volunteered for many years at these schools, in their children’s sporting and scouting troops, and at their church. Prior to retiring in 2016, Robert was Vice President of Research and Development at National Instruments, where he worked since 1985.  Robert holds Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and is a avid Longhorn sports fan. Robert now spends his time raising cattle on his family’s ranch where he grew up. He also travels, runs marathons,  and is involved in a

Randy Lawson, Board Member

Randy graduated from UT/Austin in 1970 with a BS degree in Mechanical Engineering and have been active in local community activities since moving back to Austin in late 2004. His previous business experience includes working for three different large U.S. corporations in various management positions including his last 27 years with Caterpillar Inc. (heavy machinery manufacturer) before retiring.  Randy has over six years of experience in HOA governance as a board member of the River Place HOA as well as President of the River Place Section 21 HOA Sub-Association.  Randy is currently an officer of the 2222 Coalition of Neighborhood Associations (2222 CONA) which is a 501 (C)(3) non-profit organization that is an advocate for neighborhoods in the FM 2222 area (plus FM 620 and Loop 360 areas) when special expertise is requested for city and county projects that involve land use regulations (such as zoning/rezoning & CodeNEXT), environmental issues, traffic impact/safety issues, etc.  Randy has a strong desire and commitment to devote his time and effort to helping guide the Canyon Creek community along a path of continuous improvement for the benefit of all our homeowners.  (Elected 2019, Term Expires 2021)

Poornima Siddapur , Board Member

Poornima has lived in the Canyon Creek area since 2019 after moving to Austin from Ohio. Her experience spans in various areas of Human Resources, building a bridge between business and talent. She enjoys being an active member of the community and volunteered in various areas like schools, Destination Imagination(DI), Girl Scouts, cultural non-profit organizations, and Association of Tennis Professionals(ATP) tournaments and has organized several 5K run/walks within the communities that she lived previously. She enjoys meeting & bringing people within the community together, lives with her husband Srinath, a daughter attending Westwood High School, and their pet dog, Tessa (Appointed by rule to fill board vacancy effective as of Dec 2020, Term expires 2022).

Mark Weaver, Board Member

Mark and his wife Andrea have been residents of Canyon Creek since 1996.  Mark enjoyed a long career with IBM as an electrical engineer working in all aspects of hardware and software development including project and personnel management. Since retiring in 2012, Mark keeps up with home improvement projects, travels with family and friends, cycles with Andrea on their tandem bike, is a regular volunteer as an electrician for Austin Habitat for Humanity, and is a City of Austin Electric Board member. (Elected 2017. President starting May 2018, Elected 2019, Term Expires 2021)

Residents can send email messages to to reach all the directors at once.


Page Revision History

  • 2020-12-26 (jmw): Added Poornima Siddaour to board member’s page
  • 2020-03-30 (jmw): Added Robert Canik’s picture, formatting, minor edits.
  • 2020-03-23 (jmw): Page migrated to WordPress
  • 2020-03-23 (jmw): How to Become a Board Member text split off into FAQ page.
  • 2020-03-15 (dmw): Added new Board Directors
  • 2019-02-12 (jmw) Page updated to include “Becoming a Board Member”.